Nov 2022 | Luxembourgers win at the anniversary

The Luxembourg champions Anny Wolter and Bob Bertemes won the Bitburger 0.0% main run of the 30th DEULUX run! Around 1400 runners celebrated the anniversary of the cross-border run in the heart of Europe with the LG Langsur. 43 nationalities were represented and proved once again that sport can bring people together. A year after the Luxembourg 10 km road race championships were held as part of the DEULUX race, the 30th edition was dominated by runners from the Grand Duchy. Bob Bertemes led a trio of Celtic Diekirch in his lights-to-flag victory. Behind the 18-time title holder of the Grand Duchy, who was happy about his winning time of 30:16 minutes, Yonas Kinde, the DEULUX run record winner (winner 2013, 2015/16 and 2018/19) took second place in 30:36 minutes. Bertemes' Celtic club-mate is now 42 years old! The Ethiopian, who came to Luxembourg as a refugee, took part in the refugee team at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro in 2016 and is now allowed to run for the titles at Luxembourg championships, thanked LG Langsur for hosting the DEULUX to great applause - esspecially after the two difficult years of the Corona pandemic: "It is important that there are such runs!" The men's podium with Gil Weicherding completed the Luxembourg hope for young talent. The 21-year-old stayed under 31 minutes for the first time in 30:58 minutes and was exactly 60 seconds faster than a year ago. The best German was Lucas Theis from PST Trier in sixth place in 32:04 minutes. Unlike the men, the decision for the women was practically made at the finish line. Anny Wolter from CA Fola beat Móczó Zsanett from Hungary (36:40 minutes) in 36:35 minutes, almost two weeks after winning the Luxembourg marathon championship. The gross times reflect the close decision more: after that, the two runners are separated by just one second. Monika Halasa from Poland took third place in 36:45 minutes. The fastest German was the German W-45 half marathon champion Yvonne Engel from LT Schweich in fifth place in 37:35 minutes. With Fernand Muller (Spiridon 08 Lëtzebuerg), Hermann Barten (LT Büdlich-Breit-Naurath) and Jürgen Grünewald (SV Tawern), three runners took part for the 30th time 30 years after the DEULUX run premiere. The foundation stone for the future was also laid during the anniversary: ​​around 400 young runners up to the age of 15 alone took part in the Volksbank junior races, which were also held across borders for the first time.